Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What area of the Milky Way do we see?

What area of the Milky Way do we see?

When we look at the band of the Milky Way, what portion of it are we looking at? Are we looking inward towards the galactic core and seeing the Sagittarius Arm? I've tried to figure this out for myself by looking at various images of the galaxy but haven't found a image/map that I'm sure of. This image was somewhat helpful: http://www.atlasoftheuniverse.com/5000lys.html But it seems like I need to know where some of the stars in the constellation Sagittarius are on a map like this to see the relationship and I haven't found one. Thanks.

The center of the Milky Way is between Scorpio and Sagittarius. You can still see the milky way somewhat dimly when you look at Cassiopeia, which is in the opposite direction. If you click Zoom out on that map you linked to, it helps explain the rest.
    Forming opinions as we speak

Thanks. I'm very new to this and didn't realize that, on this map from the same site http://www.atlasoftheuniverse.com/250lys.html, Sgr refers to Sagittarius. Got it!

The galactic center is in Sagittarius, to the upper right of the spout in the Teapot asterism and near the boundary junction with Scorpius and Ophiuchus. Here is a simple star chart that shows where the galactic center is located: https://earthsky.org/favorite-star-p...alactic-center (just scroll down a bit). The nearest Messier Object is the open cluster M6, which is about 3.5° south-ish of the galactic center. M6 is bright enough see with the unaided eye under dark skies, and even sometimes under suburban skies. Of course, you can't actually see the galactic center because it's well behind intervening dust, gas, stars, and candy (all Milky Way bars, of course ).

To locate the galactic center point more precisely, you need to consult a detailed star atlas: