Thread: Plane condensation

Plane condensation

This is my first time to share photos, so I'm not absolutely sure I've done it correctly.

Yesterday I was in downtown Tokyo and I noticed from an app that planes on approach to Haneda were flying over the city center (it's a new route that just started this spring). It was partly clouded, and I noticed (it's the first time I ever really remember seeing this so clearly) that the planes created their own clouds (I guess condensation trails?) as they descended through the cloud layer, even when there wasn't a cloud there. These are two pictures I took with my iPhone, so they are not great quality and one is pretty blurry.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    As above, so below

It doesn’t take much airflow with cold soaked wings.
    Usually you see cones in the transonic range.

Now watch someone say the chem trail folks swapped in humidifiers by mistake...

Cool! It doesn't take all that much speed, just humidity and compressive effects. We watched a Formula 1 race from Hungary yesterday and you could see little condensation trails coming off the rear wings. That's at speeds of 200mph or less.
    Cum catapultae proscriptae erunt tum soli proscript catapultas habebunt.

I think temperature and RH have to be just right for this vapor condensation to appear on commercial airliners but it's very commonly seen with fighters performing moderate-to-high g maneuvers.
    Forum Rules►  ◄FAQ►  ◄ATM Forum Advice►  ◄Conspiracy Advice
    Click http://cosmoquest.org/forum/images/buttons/report-40b.png to report a post (even this one) to the moderation team.

Man is a tool-using animal. Nowhere do you find him without tools; without tools he is nothing, with tools he is all. Thomas Carlyle (1795-1881)