Thread: Textbook Explanation?

Textbook Explanation?

Being relatively new to this board, this probably ties into some other thread of which I am unaware, so please enlighten me if it does.

I am not an astronomer (my background is chemsitry) but while reading Horizons: Exploring the Universe 7th ed. (copyright 2002) by Michael Seeds, (which I guess would be considered an introductory astronomy text and I am assuming Dr. Seeds is a mainstream astronomer), I ran across the following passage:

ďWhy do we say the universe canít have an edge or center?

The quick answer is that an edge or a center would violate the cosmological principle, which says that every place in the universe is similar in its general properties to every other place. Then a place at the edge or center would be different, so there can be no edge and no center. Of course, this isnít critical thinking; it is only an appeal to the arbitrary authority of cosmological principle. What is the real reason we conclude that there can be no edge and no center?

Imagine that the universe had an edge and you went there. What would you see? Of course, you might imagine an edge to the distribution of matter with empty space beyond, but that would not be a real edge. Imagine an edge beyond which there is no space. Could you stick your head beyond the edge and look around? Thinking about an edge to the universe leads us to logical problems we cannot resolve. From this, we conclude that an edge is impossible [emphasis mine]. Of course, if there is no edge, then there is no center because we define the centers of things by reference to their edges.Ē